22.06.2010  •  Events NEWS


AUSTRIAN FASHION AWARDS •  AFA-Austria Fashion Awards - nominees and winners, jury and awards presenters - all here on GoSee

A total of four fashion awards were presented during the AFA-Austria Fashion Awards ceremony. Andreas Oberkanins, CEO Unit F Büro hosted the ceremony.

With well-worded speeches and a touch of wonderful charm, he announced the Austria Fashion Awards nominees to an invited industry audience.

The following awards were presented:

The Austrian Ministry for Education, Art and Culture’s (Bundesministeriums für Unterricht, Kunst und Kultur (BMUKK)) Fashion Award: a one-year internship with an international designer worth 13,200 EUR (in Europe) and up to 18,000 EUR (outside of Europe), was presented by Austrian Culture Minister Dr. Claudia Schmied. The nominees were Anna-Kirsten Krambeck, Saskia Wendland. The winner of the award was a very happy Saskia Wendland (*1980, Germany). Saskia successfully graduated from the 2008 Fashion Class at the University of the Arts, Vienna.

City councillor Dr. Andreas Mailath-Pokorny presented the City of Vienna’s Fashion Award (participation in an international fashion trade fair or festival, with 10,000 EUR of funding). The nominees were Doychinoff and Isabelle Steger. Winner Isabelle Steger (*1984) / www.isabellesteger.com) works in a critically reflective context, which distinguishes her collections from the prevailing fashion discourse. Her designs are usually monochrome and geometrically constructed, almost like modern uniforms of an Orwellian working world.

WKW Vice President Dr. Paulus Stuller presented the International PR Award (coverage with an international agency, including all agency fee costs, funding: 15,000 EUR). Superated managed to secure the jury’s vote over nominee Anna Aichinger. Superated is a Vienna-based menswear label. From minimalist to extrovert, the label challenges all established menswear fashion clichés.

Der KONTAKT. Fashion Award by Erste Bank, with 5,000 Euro in sponsorship funds, was presented to USE unused.

Andreas’ presentation was supported by director Mark Glassner’s eye-catching visuals of the nominated/winning collections, as modelled by the lovely Beate. Watch the video on GoSee Film.

The location was the gorgeous Semperdepot, Lehárgasse 6, Vienna, the evening’s VJs were curated by sound:frame.

The 2010 JURY comprised Vera Capara / Belgium, Fashion Designer, Co-Founder and designer of Antwerp-based label CAPARA. Held previous leading roles at Dries van Noten, Martin Margiela and Jil Sander. www.capara.be

Siems Luckwaldt / Germany, Fashion & Beauty Director, Editor of Jewellery & Watches and Fashion Blogger for G+J Wirtschaftsmedien publishers, Germany. Also responsible for Financial Times Deutschland’s ‘How to Spend it’ luxury magazine supplement and ‘Business Punk’.

Pieter Mulier / Belgium, Chief Designer of men’s and women’s accessories for Jil Sander, Milan.

Vidya Narine / France, Founder and CEO of LENEWBLACK, the world’s first online fashion trade fair.

Götz Offergeld / Germany, Co-Founder of LIEBLING art and fashion magazine, as well as Founder and Editor of German edition Intersection.

News of: